HOW CAN WE HELP?

Our hearts are with all those affected by the recent hurricanes. 

Join us in prayer for the victims, rescue workers, volunteers and their families.

If you have specific prayer requests you would like to share:

CLICK HERE TO SUBMIT A PRAYER REQUEST

We are continually updating this list of resources. 

If you have a resource you would like to submit for consideration, please contact us.


Hurricane victims' need for relief is only just beginning. The best way to aid in relief efforts is to donate cash, rather than material items, to trusted organizations, according to the Center for International Disaster Information. Money can be more useful to charities because survivors’ needs can vary.


TYLER


Hiway 80 Rescue Mission (hiway80rm.org), 601 W Valentine Street in Tyler, (903) 617-6097. They have crews going to Houston to help with clean-up. Cleaning supplies, gloves, wipes, bleach and bottled water needed.


PATH (pathhelps.org), 402 W Front St in Tyler, (903) 597-7284. They are greatly depleted in their food supply because of the influx of people. If people will make a monetary donation, PATH can buy food at the food bank MUCH cheaper than we can. They buy about $100 worth of food for $10. They also need diapers.


TEXAS


Christian Relief Fund (christianrelieffund.org)

Ecclesia Houston (ecclesiahouston.org)

Grace Crossing Church (gracecrossing.church)

Hurricane Harvey Relief Fund (ghcf.org)

Lake Jackson Church of Christ (disasterassistancecoc.com)

Trusted World (trustedworld.org)


FLORIDA


Feeding Florida (feedingflorida.org)

Miami Diaper Bank (miamidiaperbank.com)

Volunteer Florida (volunteerflorida.org)


NATIONAL


Churches of Christ Disaster Relief Effort (disasterreliefeffort.org)

Convoy of Hope (convoyofhope.org)

Global Giving (globalgiving.org)

LiveBeyond (livebeyond.org)

National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (nvoad.org)

Red Cross (redcross.org)

Salvation Army (helpsalvationarmy.org)

Samaritan's Purse (samaritanspurse.org)

Save the Children (savethechildren.org)

World Vision (worldvision.org)


MORE WAYS TO HELP


"Here Are Ways You Can Help People During Hurricane Harvey," Dan Solomon, August 27, 2017, TexasMonthly.com

"How to Help Hurricane Irma Victims," Teresa L. Carey, September 8, 2017, PBS.org


HOW TO AVOID BEING SCAMMED


Before giving money to an organization, do your research.


Charity Navigator, which identifies worthy charities, has a handy list of organizations that are responding in the aftermath of the storm.


For advice on avoiding fraudsters, check out tips from the Federal Trade Commission.


“Be wary of charities that spring up too suddenly in response to current events and natural disasters,” the F.T.C. website says. “Even if they are legitimate, they probably don’t have the infrastructure to get the donations to the affected area or people.”